Ancient ages

The ancient name of the island  was "Peparithos." The Peparinthos inhabited by the 15 ° BC by King Stafylos (brother of King Minos of Crete). 
The king introduced the art of viticulture  and wineries and was created so the tradition of the 
famous in antiquity  "Wine of Peparithos."
In 1675 the main product of the island was the wine which was considered more tangible in the Aegean.
In 1936 archaeological excavations were made and the tomb of the founder along with many coins era and a bronze double ax handle (the symbol of the Minoan civilization). The findings are preserved in the National Archaeological Museum of Athens.

Hellenistic ages

Renaming the island its current name, Skopelos, was during the Hellenistic period.
 In the 4th century Bishop of Skopelos was St. Riginos, who  is now patron saint of Skopelos.
During the Frankish period, the island belonged to the family of Giza.
After the sacking of the Barbarossa in 1538, 
enslaved by the Turks, the sovereignty of which he remained until 1830, when united with Greece,  which had just opened.

 

Archaeological sites

Asklepieion

 

Asclepius was the god of medicine. On the coastal road of  Skopelos after the hotel Mon Repos (100 m) there are ruins from his temple the ancient hospital. No ticket needed but there is time table.

Castle in the city

 

Castle was usefull to defend pirates and other enemies. It is very old. Some stones in the bases are giant.

Old town Skopelos

 

The old village is enclosed from the castle. Small houses with roof made of stone slabs narrow streets and many chapels  (32) are a unique tour.

Ancient tombs

 

Carved  Tombs at  the top of the mountain Chickpea". 20 minutes by car NW of Skopelos town. They called "Sedoukia". Follow the map of the island. Stop the car at the right point and go on foot for 2 Km at the top of the mountain. There are stone and painted signs across. Majestic view!